Dirt Crits 2016/17 Wrap

It was a nail-biting finish to the 2016/17 Dirt Crits Series on Thursday 9 March with the top two contenders for series honours tied on total points at the end of the race.  However, the series is determined by the best seven results, only one of which can be from an Individual Time Trial.  Once these calculations were conducted it emerged that Tony Russell (117) was the series winner with a final margin of just one point over teh consistent Daniel Jackson (116).  Michael Scott also recorded a consistent set of results to claim third position on 114 points.  Alister Gray, Emma Jackson and Shaun Darcy shared the next positions, locked together on 112 points. In the Junior category it was a convincing win by Sam Williams with a total of 52 points, ahead of Thomas McKimmie on 49 and George Stevens on 42 points.    At the conclusion of the racing participants, family members and friends stopped off at the Taproom at the Mill complex in Walker Street for some pizzas and refreshments, along with the presentation of prizes and awards (including the much coveted pair of Rocky Riders socks for Seniors winner Tony Russell).

Congratulations to the winners and place getters in this season's Dirt Crits and hearty thanks to all of the riders who participated.  Also big thanks to the team of volunteers led by Paula Ewing who coordinated the series with registrations, course markings, timing and results. Some video footage obtained during the latter stages of the Dirt Crits series is available on our You Tube channel.